About Us

The Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute established by the Government of India under the Ministry of Agriculture in 1947 became a member of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) family in 1967. The headquarters was shifted from Mandapam Camp to Cochin in 1971. 

Over the period, the Institute has grown significantly in its size, stature & research infrastructure. Now, it enjoys the status of a premier research organisation comparable to any similar institution in the developed countries. 

With the fast changing marine fisheries scenario and emergence of mariculture as a viable proposition for enhancing the production , the Institute over the years has tuned its mandate in consonance with the needs of the time.

Dr.G.Syda Rao

Our Headquaters

Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute
Post Box No. 1603, Ernakulam North P.O.,
Kochi-682 018.
Phone: (Resi): 0484-2323440(Off): 0484 2394357, 2391407, 2394867, 2394312, 2397569, 2394268, 2394750, 2394296.
Telegram : CADALMIN, Ernakulam
Fax : 0091-0484-2394909
E-mail : [email protected]  

Our Organisation Chart


MANDATE (As approved by Indian Council of Agricultural Research)

  • To monitor the exploited and assess the under-exploited of the marine fisheries resources of the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ). 
  • To understand the fluctuations in abundance of marine fisheries resources in relation to change in the environment.
  • To develop suitable mariculture technologies for finfish, shellfish and other culturable organisms in open seas to supplement capture fishery production. 
  • To act as a repository of information on marine fishery resources with a systematic database. 
  • To conduct transfer of technology, post graduate and specialized training, education and extension education programmes.
  • To provide consultancy services.  

Contact Details

To Contact Director, Heads of Divisions & other officials
 In-ChargeE-mail Id
DirectorDr. G. Syda Rao[email protected]
Fishery Resources AssessmentDr. T.V. Sathianandan (In-Charge)[email protected] 
Pelagic Fisheries Dr. (Mrs.) Grace Mathew (In-Charge) [email protected] 
Demersal Fisheries Dr. P.U. Zacharia [email protected] 
Crustacean Fisheries Dr. E.V. Radhakrishnan [email protected] 
Molluscan Fisheries Dr. K. Sunilkumar Mohamed [email protected] 
Fishery Environment Management
Dr. (Mrs.) V. Kripa [email protected] 
Marine Biotechnology Dr. K. K. Vijayan [email protected] 
Socio Economic Evaluation & Technology Transfer Dr. R. Narayanakumar (In-Charge) [email protected] 
Marine Bio-Diversity Dr. (Mrs.) Mary K. Manissery [email protected] 
Mariculture Dr. G. Gopakumar [email protected]
Consultancy Cell Dr. (Mrs.) Grace Mathew [email protected] 
Chief Administrative Officer Shri Rakesh Kumar[email protected] 
Senior Finance & Accounts OfficerShri A.V. Joseph [email protected] 
Public Information Officer Dr. (Mrs.) Grace Mathew [email protected] 
Vigilance Officer Dr. P.U. Zacharia  [email protected] 
Policy Cell Chairman Dr. E. Vivekanandan  [email protected] 

info @ cmfri
[email protected] Library Catalogue (OPAC) Scientific Publication of Staff
intranet @ cmfri
CMFRI Mail Intranet

useful links